Ashtakoot in Kundali Matching

Ashtakoot in Kundali Matching


No matter how technologically sound people become, they still consider the Horoscope as the best way to improve the present and future conditions, irrespective of everything they do or have done in the past. Janam Kundali is made at the time of the birth of the child and records the position of planets and stars at that particular time.

It is believed that Horoscope or Janam Kundali alerts the person about what good or bad is going to happen with them in the future. People in Hindu Culture have an indispensable belief over Janam Kundali. People who never visit an astrologer, also get their Janam Kundali matched at the time of marriage. It acts as a tool that is used to make predictions by observing the astrological movements of planets in different houses of Kundali.

Kundali Milan is performed as a first step in the process of marriage and even holds a great significant place in Hindu Astrology. Two people who are going to tie knots for the rest of their life should know how compatible they are & how they are going to impact each other’s life and Kundali Milan helps them in discovering that.

Prior to marriage, Janam Kundali of both the potential groom and bride is matched to check the compatibility and this is known as Guna Milan Process. There are 8 eight tests and each of them holds a certain number which, when added, makes a total of 36. For a compatible marriage, a couple needs to have a score of more than 18 points. Each of these tests holds a different meaning. Let’s understand them in detail.

First house- Varna Koota

This Koot stands for the spirituality between the couple. The twelve zodiac signs are divided into 4 categories namely, Brahmin (the Highest), Kshatriyas, Vaishyas, and the Shudras. Varna of the groom should be either equal or higher than that of the girl and if the varna of the girl is superior, the union is not considered good.

Second House- Vasya Koota

This Koot describes the power equation of the couple. This one will describe who will enjoy the dominance in the relationship.

Third House- Tara Koota

Stands for the mental compatibility between couples, Tara Koot is the third test. It also indicates the health and peace between the bride and groom after marriage.

Fourth House- Yoni Koota

Yoni Koot indicates the sexual and physical compatibility between the couple.  It turns out to be favorable if the Yoni Koot of both, girl and boy, are the same and If they are different it can create enmity between the couple.

Fifth House- Graha Maitri Koota

This Koot represents the mutual affection between the couple. How the outlook, objective, daily behavior of another person will impact the other one is checked through this Koot

Sixth House- Gana Koota

This Koot describes the friendship between the bride and groom.

Seventh House-Rashi Koota

This Koot indicates the overall prosperity of the couple. It also describes the economic growth and prosperity of the family.

Eighth House-Nadi Koot

With the highest value, the Koot stands for the heredity and psychological factors. It also describes the health compatibility of two people to produce a healthy offspring