Reset MacBook Pro

Apple Troubleshooting: How to Reset MacBook Pro Laptops

Shares

How to Reset MacBook Pro Laptops: Regardless of how well you maintain your laptop, you’ll run into MacBook Pro problems sometimes. Millions of people own a Mac, which is fortunate because it means it isn’t too difficult now to find troubleshooting aid.

However, when normal troubleshooting steps don’t work, it’s time to reset it. But if you haven’t tried it before, you won’t know what to do.

Don’t panic yet.

With this guide, you’ll learn how to reset MacBook Pro laptops without a hitch. That way, when push comes to shove, you can wipe the slate clean and start over again. Read on and find out more:

1. Restart Your MacBook Pro

Resetting your computer means restarting it first. The most direct method is to hold the power button until the dialog box appears. After that, pick the Restart option to proceed.

Another method is to click the Apple icon located in the top-left screen corner. Then, you can select the Restart option from there. If your computer freezes, the keyboard shortcut Control + Command + Eject works best.

2. Open in Recovery Mode

After the computer turns off, hold the Command + R keys. Do this until the Apple logo appears, and then release it to let the Mac boot up. This takes a while to finish, so worry not whether your MacBook froze since it’s normal.

As it boots up, your Mac won’t open the desktop, but the Recovery Mode instead. Pick the right user profile and enter your password before getting control. Look for the macOS Utilities windows for various options, such as:

  • Time Machine backup
  • Install a new copy of macOS
  • Access help documentation
  • Repair a damaged disk
  • Erase all data

Pick the Disk Utility option if you want to erase all data. This allows you to start from scratch, as if fresh from the box. It’s an especially useful option if your Mac became one of the 9.9 billion targets for malware attacks each year.

3. Erase the Data

Once the Disk Utility is active, look at the Internal heading and pick your startup disk. After that, choose the Erase button, located at the top of the window. In the resulting dialog box, change the format to Mac OS Extended (Journaled).

Click the Erase button once you’re done. After completing the process, go to the Disk Utilities menu and choose the Quit Disk Utility option. Take note, any deleted data left on the drive is unrecoverable after finishing the process.

4. Reinstall macOS

With your device fresh once again, your next step is to install macOS once more. On the macOS Utilities screen, pick the Install macOS option. Follow the instructions to ensure that the reinstallation of the operating system is successful.

Did you reset your MacBook because you want to sell it? If so, skip this step since it’s the new owner’s responsibility to install their macOS system. This is applicable if you’re gathering funds for the new MacBook Pro release date.

5. Restore From Backup

Opting to save files through a Time Machine backup means getting your files back. You can do this by accessing the macOS Utilities screen. Above the Install macOS option, click the Restore From Time Machine Backup to start.

Once there, pick the right backup from the list. This will reinstall your saved files as if you never reset your MacBook Pro.

What to Do Before You Reset MacBook Pro

It’s crucial to make a backup for all your file before you restore your MacBook to its factory settings. This ensures your details won’t get compromised. It’s an especially important step if you’re preparing it for a new owner.

How to Back Up Your Mac

The easiest method of making a backup of your files is to copy your system. This includes all components, and the best tool for the job is Time Machine. This is a built-in utility that will accomplish this task for you.

With Time Machine, you need not import your files manually to another hard drive. Once you reset your Mac, you can restore these files using a few clicks.

Erase Personal Data

Are you selling or giving away your MacBook Pro? If so, you must erase all your data since it prevents the new user from accessing it. It means signing out of your iTunes.

Open the iTunes app by clicking iTunes next to the Apple logo. Select Account and on the ensuing list, find the Authorizations option. Click Deauthorize This Computer and enter your Apple ID credentials to confirm before clicking Deauthorize.

Sign Out of iCloud and iMessage

Doing this ensures that the files and information saved within your iCloud won’t get compromised. Signing out of your iCloud varies depending on the version of your macOS. Here are things to consider:

For macOS Catalina and Above

Press the Apple logo and pick System Preferences. Here, click Apple ID and look at the sidebar. Select the Overview and click the Sign Out button to finish the job.

For macOS Mojave and Earlier

Like in Catalina, you must go to the System Preferences after clicking the Apple logo. Pick the iCloud option and press the Sign Out button.

Sign Out of iMessage

Go to your Messages app by clicking Messages next to the Apple logo. Once there, pick Preferences. Select iMessage then press the Sign Out button.

Reset NVRAM

If you reset the Non-Volatile Random-Access Memory (NVRAM), it erases your settings. It includes the following:

  • Time zone
  • Sound volume
  • Kernel panic information
  • Startup-disk and display configurations

To do this, shut down your Mac and press the Option + Command + P + R keys. Hold these together as you turn your Mac back on. Do these for 20 seconds and release to finish the reset.

Reset your MacBook Today!

These are the steps needed to reset MacBook Pro Laptops. Use these to ensure you won’t mess up the steps and cause more trouble to your computer.

Of course, resetting your MacBook Pro is only one method of fixing issues and getting things back up to speed. To further learn how you can optimize your laptop, feel free to keep reading our other laptop and general tech guides today!

One thought on “Apple Troubleshooting: How to Reset MacBook Pro Laptops”

Comments are closed.